This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience. By clicking or navigating the site you agree to allow our collection of information through cookies. More info

2 minutes to read Posted on Wednesday November 21, 2018

Updated on Monday November 6, 2023

portrait of Joke van der Leeuw-Roord

Joke van der Leeuw-Roord

Founder and Special Advisor , EUROCLIO - European Association of History Educators

2018 Members Council elections: we are presenting 89 candidates!

It’s unbelievable, but it’s true! 89 candidates came forward in this year’s Europeana Network Association Members Council elections to compete for 28 available seats! Have a look at their profiles and vote for your favorites between 5 and 14 December.

main image
Maastricht. Achter de Comedie 1. "Redoute". Jubileum van de Raad van Arbeid. | Z.01 Zuiden, Het
Historisch centrum Limburg
The Netherlands

Over the past few weeks, we have been inviting all our registered Network Association members to come forward as candidates for the new Members Council. Today, I’m very proud to announce that 89 fantastic candidates decided to step forward.

I have the pleasure of introducing the 89 people who will be running in this year’s elections, each hoping to win one of the 28 available seats. You can read more about each of them on their dedicated Candidate Profiles page:

Ivan Alexiev, Henk Alkemade,Georgia Angelaki, Nicola Barbuti, Jonathan Beck, Lakhdar Olivier Benmalek, Walter Biondani, Ina Bluemel, Camelia Boca, Petra Boettinger, Daniel Borosa, Flavia Bruni, Elisa Brunoni, Erik Buelinckx, Simona Bursasiu, Tamara Butigan, Alexandros Charkiolakis, Steven Claeyssens, Idalina Conde, Antonino Tindaro Costa, Marinela Covaci, Michal Čudrnák, Olimpia Curta, Berith Danse, Robert Davies, Nicolas de Potter D'Indoye, Evinc Dogan, Killian Downing, Maria Drabczyk, Maria Engberg, Jonathan Even Zohar, Barbara Fischer, Lynda Frenois, Hanna Gawel, Karin Glasemann, Susan Hazan, Wilbert Helmus, George Homs, Pilar Irala-Hortal, Aleksandra Janus, Marisa Kerbizi, Amalyah Keshet, Erviola Konomi, Konstantinos Konstantinidis, Matjaž Kragelj, Vera Kriezi, Loa Steinunn Kristjansdottir, Georgios Lamprakoulis, Daniela Lavurovska, Adriana Laze, Lindita Lohja, Lajos Lovas, Nikolaos Makris, Sotiris Makrygianni, Nathan Mannion, Georgia Manolopoulou, Anne-Wil Maris, Marina Markellou, Anna Maria Marras, Petrina Mataj, Erand Meca, Bartolomeo Meletti, Hiram Morgan, James Morley, Mary Moynihan, Marta Musso, Sergiu Musteata, Dhurata Myrtollari, Clemens Neudecker, Vaya Papadopoulou, Maria Paschali, Maria Elisabete Pires, Klevi Pove, Norman Rodger, Cristina Roiu, Louise Rytter, Dolors Sabaté, Andrija Sagic, Antje Schmidt, Olga Terenetska, Frederik Truyen, Dafydd Tudur, Altheo Valentini, Hans van der Linden, Chris Vastenhoud, Erwin Verbruggen, Romain Wenz, Jeroen Wilms, Gian Piero Zarri

Yes, so many names! Each of them with their own background and area of expertise. Their professional activities range from education and research to GLAMS, non-profit and the creative industries. Amongst them, you can find many teachers, researchers, curators, archivists, librarians and aggregators.

These candidates have interests in a broad variety of areas that they wish to work on and represent as Councillors: innovation, technical development and open data, copyright, measuring of impact, communications, or history. We believe that such variety of interests and expertise will allow us to find very good representatives for the six ENA communities, and Network Association members overall.

The candidates have an opportunity to campaign and get your support from now until the elections kick-off during the Europeana Network Association AGM 2018 on 5 December. We invite you to follow their campaigns on Twitter (under the hashtag #EuropeanaElects), and in the Europeana LinkedIn group.

Once we launch the elections at the AGM, our 2,100+ Network Association members will have over a week until 14 December to select up to 28 of their preferred candidates in the online voting. Additionally, the members can vote on some key Association documents such as the Annual and Financial Report. The results of the elections and voting will be announced on 18 December.

We wish all the candidates the best of luck!