This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience. By clicking or navigating the site you agree to allow our collection of information through cookies. More info

2 minutes to read Posted on Thursday December 14, 2023

Updated on Friday December 22, 2023

portrait of Zuzana Malicherova

Zuzana Malicherova

Network and Policy officer , Europeana Foundation

Meet the new Europeana Network Association Members Councillors!

We are happy to announce the results of the 2023 Europeana Network Association (ENA) Members Council elections! Read on to meet the nine new Councillors, who were elected from 53 candidates. 

Men balancing on a beam, two holding on underneath each end; one doing a handstand in the middle of the beam. A man in a dark coat and hat looks on.
Turner am Barren auf dem Heiligengeistfeld
Hamann, Heinrich
Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe Hamburg

On behalf of the Elections and Voting Committee, we are happy to introduce the following new Council members (in alphabetical order): Nicola Barbuti, Carola Carlino, Jason Evans, Raul Gomez Hernandez, Juha Henriksson, Luis Ramos Pinto and Vassiliki Yiannou.

Milena Dobreva and Georgia Manolopoulou have been re-elected. Over the past three years, they have proven their dedication and experience, and we are delighted to welcome them back for one more term

Congratulations to all the elected representatives!

We are pleased to see that the new Council represents a good balance of interests, expertise, backgrounds, nationalities and sectors in the ENA, and are excited for them to start their work. We especially look forward to the new Councillors taking on active roles, engaging in and leading ENA’s strategic activities and steering the work of ENA communities in the years to come.

The newly elected Councillors will serve a three-year term. The rest of the Councillors, elected in 2021, will continue to serve for one more year.

Elections and voting process

We started the 2023 elections campaign on 12 September. Voting opened during this year’s General Assembly meeting on 29 November and ran until 12 December. About 12% of the eligible voters participated in the elections.

As well as choosing their new representatives, ENA members voted in favour of key Association documents including the ENA Annual Report 2023, ENA Activity Plan 2024, ENA Financial Report 2022 and Budget 2024.

Elections of the new Management Board

The new Council will be composed of 36 elected members who will officially start working together on 1 January 2024. One of their first tasks will be electing a new Management Board. By early January 2024, all 36 Councillors will have had an opportunity to step forward to be elected as three of the six Board members. The elections will take place in mid January, internally within the Council. We will come back to you with the results by the end of January. The newly elected Councillors will also be invited to join the first Council meeting of 2024 in March.

Thank you

We would like to thank all the candidates who ran for this election, and hope to see you remain as active members in our communities and other ENA activities - and possibly campaign again in the future.

We would also like to sincerely thank those Councillors who completed their terms and will be leaving the Council after three or six years for all their expertise and fantastic work: Alexandra Angeletaki, Cosmina Berta, Larissa Borck, Evelien Hauwaerts, Fred Saunderson, Nienke van Schaverbeke and Peter Soemers.

And finally, we are grateful to all the voters who dedicated time to approve the formal documents and choose their new representatives. We invite you to have a look at the complete results, and you are also welcome to reach out to Councillors directly if you have any questions.

If you are not yet a Member of the Europeana Network Association and would like to vote or run in future elections, join today!