This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience. By clicking or navigating the site you agree to allow our collection of information through cookies. More info

2 minutes to read Posted on Friday January 28, 2022

Updated on Monday November 6, 2023

portrait of Zuzana Malicherova

Zuzana Malicherova

Network and Policy officer , Europeana Foundation

New Management Board to lead Europeana Network Association

We are delighted to introduce the new Management Board to steer the Europeana Network Association (ENA) over the next three years.

A team of young gymnasts sit arm in arm on top of a gymnastics vaulting box
Gefle Gymnastikförening GGF. Gymnaster.
Landberg, Ingrid
Länsmuseet Gävleborg

Following the Members Council elections in November 2021, seven Councillors came forward as candidates for the Europeana Network Association (ENA) Management Board. From 18 to 23 January 2022, the 36 Council representatives elected five of the nominees to form the new Board.

Role of the Management Board

The Management Board leads the development of the ENA’s strategic vision. Board members also act as ENA’s legal representatives and decision-making executives, representing the ENA in strategic discussions within the Europeana Initiative.

The Board members act as key ambassadors of Europeana and the ENA and offer guidance to its members. The Board oversees the ENA governance, sets its procedures and annual policy, and is responsible for the budget and delivery of formal reports. It also accepts new members, and provides guidance to the Europeana Network Association Communities (and their Task Forces and Working Groups) and formally approves and evaluates their progress. 

The Board is headed by the Chair, who acts as the voice of the ENA and chairs all the Management Board and Members Council meetings and the General Assembly. The Vice-Chair carries out these responsibilities in the Chair's absence and the Treasurer is responsible for the budget and financial resources. The Board members are accountable in their roles to the Members Council. These three roles will be decided upon during the first Board meeting on 31 January 2022.

And the newly elected Board members are… 

The seven candidates who ran for the elections were Rob Davies (the current ENA Vice-Chair), Marianna Marcucci, Alexandra Milanova, Fred Saunderson, Sofie Taes, Dafydd Tudur, and Ines Vodopivec. 33 out of 36 Councillors participated in the election (92%).

The results are now in, and the elected Management Board representatives are: Rob Davies, Marianna Marcucci, Fred Saunderson, Sofie Taes, and Dafydd Tudur. They will join Milena Dobreva, who joined the Board in 2021 and has two more years to serve.

Congratulations and thank you!

Congratulations and a warm welcome to the new Board; we are delighted to have them lead the ENA in the upcoming three years, and wish them the best of luck.

We would like to thank all who ran for these elections, as well as the Councillors who voted to choose their new representatives - we are grateful for your valuable time!

We would also like to sincerely thank those Board Members who will be stepping down for all their dedication, expertise, fantastic work and achievements: Susan Hazan as the Chair, Frederik Truyen as the ENA Treasurer, Georgia Angelaki as Vice-Chair 2019 to 2020, and Alexandra Angeletaki.