This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience. By clicking or navigating the site you agree to allow our collection of information through cookies. More info

Europeana Regia

Europeana Regia was a collaborative project that created a European corpus of digitised, mostly illuminated manuscripts.

Posted on Wednesday September 10, 2014

Updated on Monday November 6, 2023

1 January 2010 to 30 June 2012
Add to calendar

These are testimonies of the circulation of texts and art in Europe in the Middle Ages and the Renaissance. They focus on the beginning of European culture in the 8th century – the start of the Carolingian era. Europeana Regia concentrated on three of the most important sets of Medieval and Renaissance manuscripts:

  • Bibliotheca Carolina: masterworks from the main abbeys and bishop schools of the Carolingian Empire (8th-9th centuries), including Reichenau, Saint-Denis, Corbie, Reims, Saint-Amand, Freising, Wissembourg. The manuscripts show the intellectual and artistic activity of these centres of religious life, ecclesiastical and imperial power, and their numerous exchanges of texts and patterns.
  • The Library of King Charles V: the most outstanding royal collection of illuminated manuscripts from the 14th century, which was, thanks to the circulation of copies, at the heart of aristocratic culture in France, England, Flanders and Burgundy.
  • The Library of the Aragon Kings of Naples: this collection is a unique concentration of masterworks of French, Venetian, Neapolitan, Lombard and Spanish illumination. It is the symbol, beyond political frontiers, of the cultural unity of Europe.

Altogether, Europeana Regia added 874 volumes of manuscripts and over 307,000 images to the portal, since 2011.


Project documentation