This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience. By clicking or navigating the site you agree to allow our collection of information through cookies. More info

2 minutes to read Posted on Wednesday May 23, 2018

Updated on Monday November 6, 2023

portrait of Beth Daley

Beth Daley

Editorial Adviser , Europeana Foundation

Awards galore - European recognition for the cultural heritage sector

A range of European cultural heritage organisations have been recognised in two high-profile award schemes. 

Winner of Regatta | Skutecký, Dominik
Winner of Regatta | Skutecký, Dominik
Skutecký, Dominik
Slovak National Gallery

European Museum of the Year and Council of Europe Museum Prize

The European Museum of the Year Award (EMYA), organised by the European Museum Forum (EMF), was presented on 12 May, at the 2018 Award Ceremony held in Warsaw, Poland.

The European Museum of the Year Award and the Council of Europe Museum Prize are the longest running and most prestigious museum awards in Europe.

The European Museum of the Year Award 2018 goes to the Design Museum, London, United Kingdom.

The museum received the EMYA trophy, Mother and Child: Egg Form by Henry Moore, which it will keep for one year.

The Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe decided to present its Museum Prize 2018 to the War Childhood Museum in Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina.

2018 EU Prize for Cultural Heritage/Europa Nostra Awards

The European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage is run by Europa Nostra with the support of Creative Europe. Every year, the Prize honours up to 30 outstanding heritage achievements from all parts of Europe. 

This year, 29 projects from 17 countries have been recognised for their impressive accomplishments in conservation, research, dedicated service, and education, training and awareness-raising.

Out of the 29 winners, seven Grand Prix laureates (each of whom will receive €10,000) and the Public Choice Award winner, chosen from among this year’s winning projects, will be announced during a ceremony at the European Heritage Awards Ceremony, co-hosted by European Commissioner Tibor Navracsics and Maestro Plácido Domingo, on the evening of 22 June in Berlin during the first European Heritage Summit.

Commissioner Navracsics congratulated the winners, saying, 'Thanks to their talent and commitment, numerous European cultural heritage treasures have been safeguarded and revitalised. And importantly, their work enables people from all backgrounds to discover, explore and engage with our rich cultural heritage fully in the spirit of the European Year of Cultural Heritage that we are celebrating in 2018.'