This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience. By clicking or navigating the site you agree to allow our collection of information through cookies. More info

2 minutes to read Posted on Monday January 28, 2019

Updated on Monday November 6, 2023

portrait of Joke van der Leeuw-Roord

Joke van der Leeuw-Roord

Founder and Special Advisor , EUROCLIO - European Association of History Educators

New Management Board to lead Europeana Network Association

Introducing the new Management Board to steer Europeana Network Association (ENA) over the next three years!

main image
Europeana Network Association AGM 2018

Following the 2018 Members Council elections in December 2018, 11 Councillors came forward as candidates for the Europeana Network Association (ENA) Management Board between. From 21 to 27 January 2019, the 36 Council representatives elected six of the nominees to form the new Board.

Role of the Management Board

The Management Board leads the development of the ENA’s strategic vision. Board members also act as legal representatives and decision-making executives, representing the ENA on Europeana Foundation’s Governing Board.

The six Board members act as key ambassadors of Europeana and the ENA and offer guidance to its members. The Board oversees the ENA governance, sets its procedures and annual policy, and is responsible for the budget and delivery of formal reports. It also accepts new members, and provides guidance to the Europeana Network Association Communities (and their task forces and working groups) and formally approves and evaluates the work progress.

The Board is headed by the Chair, who acts as the voice of the ENA and chairs all the Management Board and Members Council meetings together with the General Assembly; the Vice-Chair who carries out these responsibilities in the Chair's absence; and the Treasurer who is responsible for the budget and financial resources. They are accountable in their roles to the Members Council. These three roles will be decided upon during the first Board meeting on 20 February 2019.

Groep carnavalsvierders
Stadsarchief 's-Hertogenbosch

And the newly elected Board members are…

The eleven candidates who ran for the elections were Georgia Angelaki, Stephan Bartholmei, Rob Davies, Kate Fernie, Sara Di Giorgio, Karin Glasemann, Susan Hazan, Vera Kriezi, Marco de Niet, Frederik Truyen, and Erwin Verbruggen.

31 out of 36 Councillors participated in the election (86%). The results are now in, and the newly elected Management Board representatives are:

Congratulations and thank you!

Congratulations and a warm welcome to the new Board members; we’re delighted to have them onboard! I am looking forward to the new Board starting its work, and wish them the best of luck.

I would like to thank all the Councillors who ran for these elections, as well as the voters for choosing their new representatives - we’re grateful for your valuable time!

Finally, as I’m approaching the end of my term as a Management Board member and the Chair of the Elections and Voting Committee within the ENA Governance Working Group, I would like to say thank you to my fellow Group members. This is my last blog in this competence, and I’m happy to hand this responsibility over to my successor!

Find out more about the elections and voting.