2 minutes to read Posted on Friday November 20, 2015

Updated on Friday July 13, 2018

And the results are in… Introducing your new Members Council representatives

main image

Today, I’m happy to announce the results of the Europeana Network Association’s 2015 elections. Thirty brilliant candidates stepped forward, and 1167 Network Association members were invited to vote.

The results are now in, and your new Members Council representatives are:

Ellen Euler, German Digital Library
Emmanuelle Bermes, the National Library of France
Laura Carletti, University of Nottingham, Horizon Digital Economy Research, UK
Reyes Carrasco, Ministry of Education, Culture and Sports (Department of Estate Museums), Spain
Marco de Niet, the DEN Foundation, the Netherlands
Stephen Bartholmei, German Digital Library
Vladimir Alexiev, Ontotext, Bulgaria

See a full breakdown of the results.

Congratulations to all seven! We’re delighted that the outcome of these elections represents the breadth of expertise and diversity of sectors that make up our Network Association, and that there's a good gender balance too.

Exposition internationale des arts et techniques, Paris 1937... Photographie de presse, National Library of France, public domain

You’ll be able to get to know each new Council member better via our Meet the Members Council series, so stay tuned – and in the meantime, feel free to get in touch with them if you’ve got any questions.

The next Members Council meeting will take place in early 2016 in Copenhagen. As with our three meetings in 2015, we’ll be putting our heads together to draw up priorities for Europeana, and look at sustainability for the future. If you’d like to understand more about how the Members Council feeds into the work of Europeana, you can read more in this introductory blogpost.

We want to thank all of you who ran, and hope to see you campaigning for a seat again next year.

As the Association is still young, we’re always looking to improve. I’m grateful to my colleagues in the Voting Working Group - Joke van der Leeuw-Roord, Jef Malliet, Louise Edwards and Jonathan Gray - for their work to make this year’s elections such a success.

Thanks finally to all the voters – turnout was impressive (51.7%), and along with choosing your new representatives, you approved modifications to certain Statutes and Bylaws, and endorsed Europeana’s Business Plan 2016 too. We’re very grateful for your valuable time and feedback.

Read the full results.