This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience. By clicking or navigating the site you agree to allow our collection of information through cookies. More info

Europeana Foundation Governance

The Europeana Foundation aims to put Europe’s rich cultural heritage to good use in the world because it believes that cultural heritage empowers us to embrace our diversity and flourish. 

The Europeana Foundation is an independently governed, non-profit organisation. It leads the consortium of partners that delivers the Core Service provided by the Europeana platform. It drives capacity building for the digital transformation of the cultural heritage sector. 

The Europeana Foundation is based in The Hague, Netherlands, and has over 50 dedicated staff members representing 20 different nationalities. The organisation is steered by a Governing Board of 20 experts from cultural and scientific heritage organisations across Europe and led by Harry Verwayen, Executive Director. 

Governing Board

Europeana Foundation Board Members meet five times a year to set strategy and policy, and review plans against goals and objectives. Members are legally and financially responsible for the activities of the Foundation and help to ensure that all of the Foundation's activities are running in the best way possible. Their participation on the board is voluntary and unpaid. The board is also responsible for appointing the Executive Director who will carry out the work set out in the Europeana strategy. 

The board includes: 

  • Two members appointed by and representing the founding members sit on the board for two years.

  • Six members appointed by the Europeana Network Association from its Management Board sit on the board for two years.

  • Four members appointed by the Governing Board as representatives of European associations of content holders sit on the board for two years.

  • Five members appointed by the Governing Board as representatives of fields of expertise required to deliver the Europeana strategy sit on the board for two years.

  • Three members as representatives of the European Union member countries holding the Presidency of the Council: the preceding, sitting and succeeding presidencies. This rotates every six months and each member sits on the Governing Board for 18 months.

All issues are put to the vote. The board appoints the Chair, Vice Chair and Treasurer from amongst its members by majority vote.

The observers are usually former members of the board or external experts who are appointed to attend all the meetings and provide insight, although they do not have voting rights. All observers must receive nomination and approval from the majority of board members.




Documents related to the governance of the Europeana Foundation

Open folder