Europeana Foundation

Meet our Foundation Board. They represent professional associations from across the heritage field. Advise on policy and strategy. Are responsible for appointing the members of the Executive Committee.

The Europeana Foundation Board consists of: 19 members that represent European associations of cultural and scientific heritage organisations; and 6 Europeana Association Management Board members. Collectively they appoint the executive branch of the Europeana Foundation the Executive Committee.

The current members of the Foundation Board are:

Nicola Mazzanti
Association Cinémathèques Européennes (ACE)

Bruno Racine
Conference of European National Librarians (CENL)

Ulf Goranson
Consortium of European Research Libraries (CERL)

Rene Capovin
European Museum Academy (EMA)

Taja Wovk van Gaal
European Museum Forum (EMF)

Karel Velle
European Regional Branch of the International Council on Archives (EURBICA)

Jan Müller
International Federation of Television Archives (FIAT)

Monika Hagedorn-Saupe
International Council of Museums Europe (ICOM)

Richard Ranft
International Association of Sound and Audiovisual Archives (IASA)

Kristiina Hormia
Ligue des Bibliothèques Européennes de Recherche (LIBER)

Rosa Caffo
Multilingual Inventory of Cultural Heritage in Europe (MICHAEL)

Siebe Weide
Network of European Museum Organisations (NEMO)

Eelco Ferwerda
Open Access Publishing in European Networks (OAPEN)

Rianna Brouwer
National Authorities on Public Libraries in Europe (NAPLE)


These organisations were instrumental in the set up of the Europeana Foundation and have remained members of the Board:

José Luis Bueren Gómez-Acebo
Biblioteca Nacional de España (BNE)

Bruno Racine
Bibliothèque nationale de France (BnF)

Daniel Teruggi
Institut National de l'Audiovisuel, France (INA)

Hans Jansen
National Library of the Netherlands - Hosting organisation (KB)

Concha Vilariño
Ministerio de Educacion, Cultura y Deporte (MCU)


Members of the Association Management Board, also sit on the Foundation Board, representing the Network in the Foundation’s executive decision-making:

Max Kaiser
Austrian National Library (ANL)

Rolf Kallman
Digis (DS)

Paul Keller
Kennisland (KL)

Joke van der Leeuw-Roord
EUROCLIO the European Association of History Educatorsa (EUROCLIO)

Johan Oomen
Netherlands Institute for Sound and Vision (BNG)

Merete Sanderhoff
Statens Museum for Kunst (SMK)