Data Quality Committee

Quality is a key priority for our whole community! The Data Quality Committee works to address key data quality issues over time.

Formally defined as a Europeana Network and EuropeanaTech Working Group, the Data Quality Committee is a standing committee that works on the various facets of the data quality challenge over time with a particular focus on reuse and discovery of cultural heritage scenarios. We believe it is crucial to tackle data quality issues at every level of the data exchange chain from its creation to its publication. We have gathered together experts from various backgrounds (metadata experts, software developers, search and retrieval experts) to help us capture all the issues.

Data Quality Mission Statement

Work areas as well as specific tasks will be defined and prioritized as the Committee sees fits and regularly reported and submitted for ratification to the community, notably the Europeana Aggregator Forum. Items such as mandatory elements for ingestion of EDM data, data checking and normalisation, data completeness have been already added on the menu.

Discovery/User scenarios

We defined our main requirements in terms of discovery and information-retrieval requirements. A series of usage scenarios have been created reflecting information-access user needs (based on the Europeana user personas), listing current metadata issues for a given scenario and then proposing future actions. These scenarios focus specifically on metadata and are not tackling any challenges regarding the user interface or the user experience in Europeana.

Multilingual saturation score

is a score for multilinguality which can be applied on statement, property or record level. We defined a simplified schema which is the basis for the measurement assuming that each statement in a property can have one of the following values: a literal, a literal with a language tag, a URI (ideally to a controlled vocabulary). Learn more in this presentation.

Note that the implementation work described in this presentation is still ongoing and is subject to changes.

Progress updates

We publish regular updates on our progresses.



Adina Ciocoiu, The European Library

Juliane Stiller, Berlin School of Library and Information Science. Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

Tim Sherratt, University of Canberra

Anila Angjeli, National Library of France

Kate Fernie, 2Culture Associates Ltd

Timothy Hill, Europeana Foundation

Antoine Isaac, Europeana Foundation (co–chair)

Kirsten de Hoog, Europeana Foundation (secretary)

Tom Miles, British Library

Cecile Devarenne, Europeana Foundation

Lizzy Jongma, NIOD Institute for War-, Holocaust- and Genocidestudies, representative of the Europeana Member Counci

Valentine Charles, Europeana Foundation (co-chair)

Cristina Muntean, CNR-ISTI

Marie-Véronique Leroi, Ministère de la culture et de la communication

Vladimir Alexiev, Ontotext, representative of the Europeana Member Council

Dimitra Atsidis, Netherlands Institute for sound and vision

Melissa Terras, UCL Centre for Digital Humanities


Eleonore Emsbach, Deutsches Filminstitut

Mia Ridge, British Library

Wim Van Dongen, Nationaal Archieef, representative of the Europeana Member Council

Fiona Fieldsend, DigitalNZ

Nuno Freire, INESC-ID

Francesca Schulze , German Digital Library

Pablo Uceda, Europeana Foundation

Gretchen Gueguen, DPLA

Péter Király, Georg-August-Universität Gottingen

Henk Vanstappen, Europeana Fashion

Rainer Simon, AIT Austrian Institute of Technology GmbH

Henning Scholz, Europeana Foundation

Regine Stein, Deutsches Dokumentationszentrum für Kunstgeschichte - Bildarchiv Foto Marburg

Hugo Manguinhas, Europeana Foundation

Sanna Marttila, Aalto University

James Morley, Imperial War Museum

Shenghui Wang, OCLC

Jef Malliet, PCCE (Provincial Centre for Cultural Heritage), representative of the Europeana Member Council